New Port Richey Car Accident Lawyer
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, our state saw more than 390,000 car accidents in 2022, and Pasco County experienced about 7,700 of them. These accidents cost victims billions of dollars collectively in medical care, lost income, and property damage. Additionally, car accident victims suffer pain and suffering which is hard to translate into monetary terms.
After an accident, you have important rights and obligations, and in many cases you can seek compensation to help cover your losses. But Florida’s laws regarding car accidents are confusing, and you don’t want to miss critical deadlines. Contact a New Port Richey car accident lawyer at Florin Gray to get accurate information about what steps to take following a wreck.
When Can You Sue for a Car Accident?
Florida is a no-fault state which requires that motorists purchase personal injury protection insurance, called PIP. These benefits are helpful after a collision, because you can immediately tap them to cover medical expenses and some lost wages without needing to prove who was at fault for the crash. These benefits can cover up to 80% of your medical care and 60% of lost income—contingent on your policy limit, of course. Florida only requires that motorists carry a policy with a $10,000 limit. Some motorists buy more.
To get the most out of your PIP insurance benefits, you need to receive appropriate medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. In most situations, this means going to the hospital or visiting your doctor. If you don’t receive treatment within the 14-day window, you can forfeit your PIP benefits.
Unfortunately, PIP benefits do not cover pain and suffering. Many accident victims are struggling with painful injuries suffered in a collision, such as:
- Compressed nerve
- Traumatic brain injury
- Shoulder injury
- Back injury
- Organ damage
- Collapsed lung
- Herniated disc
- Facial injury
- Scarring or disfigurement
These injuries cause sleeplessness, depression, irritability, and other suffering—but the only way to get compensation is to bring a lawsuit against the negligent driver who caused the accident.
Helpfully, Florida law allows victims to step outside the no-fault system and bring a lawsuit against a negligent driver in limited situations. Contact our law firm to discuss whether this is an option. If you suffered a permanent injury or loss of a bodily system, you can bring a lawsuit. Our firm has an impressive track record establishing that a negligent driver struck you and caused your injuries, and we can also negotiate or litigate for a fair amount of compensation. Our firm is also capable of filing a lawsuit if necessary.
You Are Not Alone
Many car accident victims feel isolated after a crash. They don’t know who can help them, and some are tempted to handle their own claim. Please reach out to our law firm instead. We have years of experience tackling all kinds of car accidents. Our New Port Richey car accident lawyer will explain your rights in a free consultation.