Tampa Hit & Run Accident Lawyer
When a driver is involved in any sort of motor vehicle accident, the law requires them to stop and render aid if anyone appears hurt or there is property damage. Indeed, leaving the scene of an accident under these circumstances is considered a third-degree felony in Florida, and the offender may face up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Yet despite these legal mandates, we continue to see far too many cases where drivers injure someone and then flee the scene–in many cases because they are afraid of the potential legal consequences. For the injured victims left behind this can prove frustrating, especially when it comes to establishing a negligent driver’s liability. An experienced Tampa hit & run accident lawyer can assist you in making sense of the situation.
Florin Gray is a team of dedicated Florida car accident attorneys. We represent clients through Hillsborough County in seeking compensation from their own insurance companies following a hit-and-run. And we can also conduct a full investigation into your accident to help identify the negligent driver and pursue a personal injury claim against them as well where appropriate.
How Your Own Insurance Helps Following a Hit-and-Run in Tampa
All Florida drivers must carry a minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) coverage as part of their auto insurance policy. PDL coverage pays for any damage to your vehicle and other personal property, while PIP coverage addresses your medical bills and lost wages due to an accident.
Because Florida follows a no-fault insurance system, you are entitled to PIP and PDL coverage regardless of who was responsible for an accident. So even in a hit-and-run case where an at-fault driver is never identified, your insurance company still needs to compensate you. Unfortunately, no-fault benefits do cover 100 percent of your damages.
For example, PIP benefits only cover 80 percent of your accident-related medical expenses up to the limit of your policy, which in most cases is just $10,000. Similarly, you can only recover 60 percent of your lost wages due to time missed from work from an accident, again subject to that same $10,000 limit. And PIP will not cover anything that the law considers non-economic damages, such as compensation for your pain and suffering.
But if you have also purchased uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage as part of your auto policy, you can seek additional benefits from your own insurance company. UM/UIM coverage basically means that your own insurance company must cover certain damages in the event the negligent driver lacks any or sufficient insurance of their own to compensate you. UM/UIM coverage often comes into play in hit-and-run cases where a negligent driver cannot be identified.
Hit by an Unknown Driver Today? Contact Florin Gray
Hit-and-run accidents often lead to serious or fatal injuries. So it is important that you work with a qualified Tampa hit-and-run accident lawyer who can advise you of your rights and assist you in seeking the maximum compensation you are entitled to under the law. Contact Florin Gray today to schedule a free consultation.