Orlando Wage & Hour Lawyer
You work hard every day. You expect your employer will honor that work by paying you the wages you are owed at the end of a given pay period. Unfortunately, that is not always the case. And in fact, there are many Orlando-based employers who cannot be bothered to even comply with Florida’s minimum wage and overtime laws.
If you are not being paid what you are entitled to under the law, an experienced Orlando wage & hour lawyer can help. Florin Gray, is a team of dedicated attorneys who only represent employees in pay disputes. We can advise you of your rights under federal and state law and represent you in taking legal action against a current or former employer who has tried to shortchange you on the full amount of wages owed.
How Minimum Wage and Overtime Works in Florida
The minimum wage is the lowest hourly rate that an employer can legally pay its employees. Federal law establishes a nationwide minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. But individual states can establish a higher wage. Indeed, in 2020 Florida voters approved a significant change to the state’s minimum wage laws over a number of years. As of September 30, 2022, the Florida minimum wage is $11 per hour, and that figure will increase by $1 each year until it reaches $15 per hour in September 2026.
In addition to the minimum wage, Orlando employers must also pay their employees an overtime rate if they work more than 40 hours per week. The overtime rate is 1.5 times an employee’s normal hourly wage. So if you are currently earning $12 per hour, your overtime rate would be $18 per hour for every hour worked in excess of 40 per week.
Employers may fail to pay minimum wage and overtime for a number of reasons. Sometimes it is an intentional decision to break the law. In other cases, an employer may simply not be keeping accurate time records. Whatever the reason, however, an employee who has not been properly paid can take legal action and recover monetary damages.
This typically means filing a lawsuit against the employer in state court. Under federal and state law, an employer who commits a minimum wage or overtime violation can be ordered to pay any previously unpaid wages plus an equal amount as “liquidated damages” and the employee’s legal fees. And if a court finds a wage and hour violation was “willful,” the judge can assess an additional penalty of $1,000 per violation against the employer.
Contact Florin Gray Today
Many Florida employers try to skirt the minimum wage and overtime rules by improperly claiming certain employees are “exempt” from the law. If you find yourself in this position–or your employer is simply not paying you at all–do not wait to take action. Speak with a qualified Orlando wage & hour attorney who can advise you of your rights and represent your interests in court. Contact Florin Gray, today to schedule a free consultation.